Editor's Picks

Towns decide how to hold Town Meeting

• Bookmarks: 45


by Joseph Gresser

Select boards in most Orleans County towns have decided against holding a traditional Town Meeting and instead are opting to make decisions and elect officers by Australian ballot.  Voters in Albany, Brighton, Brownington, Charleston, Coventry, Craftsbury, Derby, Glover, Greensboro, Irasburg, Morgan, and Westfield will either have to go to the polls or mail in an absentee ballot to express their opinions on candidates, budgets, and other issues.

A state law enacted last year gave select boards the option of abandoning traditional floor meetings for this year only.  The intent is to make townwide decisions without exposing citizens to the coronavirus.

this story and more in the full edition of this week’s paper. Subscribe now to access our e-version or to have it delivered to your home weekly by selecting a link below:

Annual online subscription

Short-term online subscription

Print subscription

(To find a particular article, search for the corresponding edition of the newspaper)


45 recommended
bookmark icon